Our Universities


Université Libre de Bruxelles

The Université Libre de Bruxelles is a French-speaking university in Brussels. It was founded in 1834 by Pierre-Théodore Verhaegen and is one of the most important universities in Belgium. It is continually ranked among the top universities of the world (e.g. by the Times Higher Education ranking and Shanghai Ranking) in both science and education. The ULB has 3 campusses in Brussels (Campus Solbosch, Campus de la Plaine and Campus Erasme), 2 other sites in Brussels and 5 Wallonia .

In 2017-2018 over 28.000 students were enrolled at the ULB in over 40 undergraduate programmes and 250 graduate programmes .

The ULB has a long standing tradition of excellence which is reflected by the number of prizes its researchers have received over the years, many of which to scientists in the Faculty of Science. These include 5 nobel prizes, 1 Fields Medal, 2 Abel Prizes, 25 Francqui Prizes, and many more .

Photo: Jean Cosyn

Vrije Universiteit Brussel

The Vrije Universiteit Brussel is a Dutch-speaking university in Brussels. It was founded in 1969 by separating the programmes taught in Dutch from the French-speaking Université Libre de Bruxelles. While administratively the university is relatively young and quite small compared, to other institutions in Belgium, it is continually ranked among the top universities of the world (e.g. by the Times Higher Education ranking and Shanghai Ranking) and is regarded as one of the most innovative universities in Belgium and the world (by Reuters). The VUB has 4 campusses in Brussels which it calls the Brussels Humanities, Sciences & Engineering Campus (most often called Campus Etterbeek), Brussels Health Campus (most often called Campus Jette), Brussels Photonics Campus, and the Brussels Technology Campus (Campus Kaai) .

The VUB strives for excellence in both education and research, and this is reflected in numbers. In recent years the VUB has been one of the fastest growing universities in Belgium. In 2016-2017 almost 16.000 students were enrolled at the VUB in 145 educational programmes.

Our Faculties


Faculty of Sciences, ULB

The Faculty of Sciences of the Université Libre de Bruxelles has 12 departments: Mathematics, Computer Science, Physics, Chemistry, Earth and Environmental Sciences, Molecular Bioscience, Biological Sciences, Geosciences, the Interfaculty School for Bioengineers, the Interfaculty Institute of Environmental Management and Urban Planning, the science department specialized in polymers, and the ULB's Diffusion des Sciences department.

Researchers associated with the Faculty of Science have received numerous awards, reflecting a long tradition of excellence. These include 2 nobel prizes (François Englert, physics, 2013, and Ilya Prigogine, chemistry, 1977), 1 Fields Medal (Pierre Deligne, mathematics, 1978), 14 Francqui prizes, 3 Wolf prizes, and many more...

In summary, the Faculty of Science is:

  • Nearly 2000 students in 9 bachelors and 16 masters.
  • Nearly 500 researchers in 10 departments.
  • Internationally renowned Research Areas.
  • Effective teaching programs based on the strengths of its research.

Photo: VUB

Faculty of Sciences and Bioengineering Sciences, VUB

The Faculty of Sciences and Bioengineering Sciences of the Vrije Universiteit Brussel has 7 departments: Bioengineering, Biology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Geography, Mathematics, and Physics. While the VUB is a relatively young university, the quality of its education and research has already resulted in alumni that have made major contributions to science. Notable alumni of the faculty of Sciences and Bioengineering Sciences include:

  • Jean Bourgain is a mathematician who has done groundbreaking research in various areas of mathematics such as analytic number theory and partial differential equations. He has received numerous awards for his work such as the Fields medal, and more recently the Breakthrough Prize in Mathematics and the Steele Prize for Lifetime Achievement.
  • Ingrid Daubechies is best known for her pioneering work on wavelets for image compression, resulting in (most well known) the JPEG2000 standard for storing images. She has received several awards such as the Steele Prize for Seminal Research, and honorary doctorates from universities such as the University of Oxford, UK.
  • Pattie Maes is an expert in the fields of human-computer interaction, intelligent interfaces and ubiquitous computing, and is currently a professor at MIT.

In summary, the Faculty of Sciences and Bioengineering Sciences is:

  • Around 1200 students in 7 bachelors and 23 masters.
  • Over 350 PhD candidates in 7 departments.
  • Around 230 students yearly who obtain a masters degree.

Faculty of Pharmacy, ULB

The Faculty of Pharmacy of the Université Libre de Bruxelles concerns itself with education and research in the fields of Biomedicine and Pharmaceutical Sciences.

In summary, the Faculty of Pharmacy is:

  • Around 600 students in 1 bachelor and 4 masters.
  • Around 60 researchers.
  • A strong focus on industry in the curriculum via internships professional courses.

Our Students' Education


Master Programmes @ ULB

  • Master in Agricultural Bioengineering 
  • Master in Agroecology 
  • Master in Chemistry and Bio-industries 
  • Master in Environmental Bioengineering 
  • Master in Biochemistry and Molecular and Cell Biology 
  • Master in Bio-informatics and Modelling 
  • Master in Biology of Organisms and Ecology 
  • Master in Chemistry 
  • Master in Computer Science 
  • Master in Cybersecurity 
  • Specialized Master in data science, Big data 
  • Master in Geography 
  • Master in Geology 
  • Master in Actuarial Science 
  • Master in Mathematics 
  • Master in Statistics 
  • Master in Biomedical Sciences 
  • Master in Biomedicine 
  • Advanced Master degrees in Clinical Biology, Hospital Pharmacy and Industrial Pharmacy 
  • Master in Pharmacy 
  • Master in Physics 
  • Master in Sciences and Tourism Management 
  • Master of Science and Environmental Management 

Master Programmes @ VUB

  • Master of Science in de Bio-Ingenieurswetenschappen: Cel- en Genbiotechnologie 
  • Master of Science in de Bio-Ingenieurswetenschappen: Chemie en Bioprocestechnologie 
  • Master of Science in Biology: Ecology and Biodiversity 
  • Master of Science in Biology: EMMC Tropical Biodiversity and Ecosystems 
  • Master of Science in Biology: Herpetology 
  • Master of Science in Biology: Human Ecology 
  • Master of Science in Biology: Molecular and Cellular Life Sciences 
  • Master of Science in Marine and Lacustrine Science and Management 
  • Master of Science in Molecular Biology 
  • Master of Science in Chemistry 
  • Master of Science in Applied Sciences and Engineering: Applied Computer Science 
  • Master of Science in Applied Sciences and Engineering: Computer Science 
  • Master of Science in Geography 
  • Master of Science in Stedenbouw en Ruimtelijke Planning 
  • Master of Science in Urban Studies 
  • Master of Science in Urban Studies: EMMC 4CITIES 
  • Master of Science in Mathematics 
  • Master of Science in Physics and Astronomy 

About Us


Cercle des Sciences ASBL, ULB

The Cercle des Sciences ASBL (CdS) is one of the oldest students organisations of the ULB. It has been operating as a non-profit organization since 1890. Its objectives are to bring students together via different kinds of scientific, cultural and social activities, and secondly to support and assist students throughout their stay at the university.

Key activities of the Cercle des Sciences include:

  • "Les 10 km de l’ULB": A philanthropic race of which all profits are donated entirely to scientific research at the Faculty of Sciences of the ULB. The proceeds are roughly €15000 per year.
  • "Le Festival du Film Scientifique de Bruxelles": A true film festival under the motto "Science for all" to promote science and make it accessible to everyone. This film festival attracts an audience of both established scientists and the merely curious.

Wetenschappelijke Kring, VUB

The Wetenschappelijke Kring (WK) is an organisation by students, for students, associated with the faculty of Sciences and Bioengineering Sciences of the Vrije Universiteit Brussel. Since 1949 they bridge the gap between students, their university, and their future employers. The Wetenschappelijke Kring represents all students in the fields of Bioengineering, Biology, Chemistry, Physics, Geography, Computer Science, and Mathematics.

Key activities of the Wetenschappelijke Kring include:

  • "Nacht van de Wetenschappen": A ball (as in "gala") supported by the science faculty for students and members of staff.
  • "Duvel TD": For many years "Duvel TD" has been one of the largest and most desirable nightlife events on the VUB campus that attracts over 1500 students.
  • "WK Barbecue": The end of the academic year is celebrated with a gigantic barbecue that attracts many students from the science faculty, members of staff, and alumni of the science faculty. Thanks to a close relationship with the Faculty of Sciences and Bioengineering Sciences, the "WK Barbecue" has been used as an official get together (or "send off") for newly graduated students.

Nos universités


Université Libre de Bruxelles

Le Université Libre de Bruxelles est une université francophone de Bruxelles . Elle a été fondé en 1834 par Pierre-Théodore Verhaegen et est l'une des universités les plus importantes en Belgique. Elle est continuellement classé parmi les meilleures universités du monde (par exemple par le Times Higher Education classement et Shanghai classement) dans la science et l'éducation. L'ULB compte 3 campus à Bruxelles (campus Solbosch, campus de la plaine et Campus Erasme), 2 autres sites à Bruxelles et 5 en Wallonie .

En 2017-2018 plus de 28,000 étudiants ont été inscrits à l'ULB dans plus de 40 programmes de premier cycle et 250 programmes d'études supérieures.

L'ULB a une longue tradition d'excellence qui se reflète dans le nombre de prix que ses chercheurs ont reçus au fil des ans, dont beaucoup ont été attribué aux scientifiques de la Faculté des sciences. Ceux-ci incluent 5 prix Nobel, 1 médaille de Fields, 2 prix d'Abel, 25 Prix Francqui, et beaucoup plus .

Photo: Jean Cosyn

Vrije Universiteit Brussel

La Vrije Universiteit Brussel est une Université néerlandaise à Bruxelles. Elle a été fondée en 1969 en séparant les programmes enseignés en Néerlandais de l'Université libre de Bruxelles. Tandis que l'université est relativement jeune et assez petite par rapport à d'autres institutions en Belgique, elle est continuellement classée parmi les meilleures universités du monde (par exemple par le fois l'enseignement supérieur classement et Shanghai classement) et est considéré comme l'une des universités les plus innovantes en Belgique et dans le monde (par Reuters). La VUB compte 4 campus à Bruxelles qu'elleappelle le Brussels Humanities, Sciences and Engineering campus (le plus souvent appelé campus Etterbeek ), Bruxelles Health ca MPU (le plus souvent appelé campus Jette), Brussels Photonics campus, et le Brussels Technology campus (campus Kaai) .

La VUB s'efforce d'atteindre l'excellence tant dans l'éducation que dans la recherche, ce qui se reflète en chiffres. Ces dernières années, la VUB a été l'une des universités les plus dynamiques en Belgique. En 2016-2017, près de 16,000 étudiants ont été inscrits à la VUB dans 145 programmes éducatifs.

Nos facultés


Faculté des Sciences, ULB

La Faculté des Sciences de l'Université libre de Bruxelles compte 12 départements: mathématiques, informatique, physique, chimie, sciences de la terre et de l'environnement, bioscience moléculaire, sciences biologiques, géosciences , l'École interfacultaire pour les bio-ingénieurs, l'institut interfacultaire de gestion de l'environnement et d'urbanisme, le département des sciences spécialisé en polymères, et le département de diffusion des sciences de l'ULB.

Les chercheurs associés à la Faculté des sciences ont reçu de nombreux prix, reflétant une longue tradition d'excellence. Il s'agit notamment de deux prix Nobel (François Englert, physique, 2013, et Ilya Prigogine, chimie, 1977), une médaille de Fields (Pierre Deligne, mathématiques, 1978), 14 Prix Francqui, 3 Prix Wolf, et beaucoup plus.. .

En résumé, la Faculté des sciences est:

  • Près de 2000 étudiants en 9 bachelier et 16 master.
  • Près de 500 chercheurs dans 10 départements.
  • Des domaines de recherche de renommée internationale.
  • Des programmes d'enseignement efficaces basés sur les forces de sa recherche.

Photo: VUB

Faculté des sciences et des sciences de la bioingénierie, VUB

La Faculté des Sciences et de la bioingénierie de la Vrije Universiteit Brussel compte 7 départements: bioingénierie, biologie, chimie, informatique, géographie, mathématiques et physique. Bien que la VUB soit une université relativement jeune, la qualité de son éducation et de sa recherche a déjà donné naissance à des anciens qui ont apporté des contributions majeures en Science. Les anciens élèves de la Faculté des sciences et des sciences de la bioingénierie comprend:

  • Jean Bourgain est un mathématicien qui a fait des recherches révolutionnaires dans divers domaines de mathématiques tels que la théorie des nombres analytiques et équations différentielles partielles. Il a reçu de nombreux prix pour son travail comme la médaille Fields, et plus récemment le Breakthrough Prize in Mathematics et le Steele Prize for Lifetime Achievement.
  • Ingrid Daubechies est surtout connue pour ses travaux pionniers sur les ondelettes pour la compression d'images, ce qui a pour résultat (le plus connu) la norme JPEG2000 pour stocker des images. Elle a reçu plusieurs récompenses telles que le Steele Prize for Seminal Research, et des doctorats honorifiques d'universités telles que l'université d'Oxford, UK.
  • Pattie Maes est un expert dans les domaines de l'interaction homme-ordinateur, des interfaces intelligentes et l'informatique omniprésente, et est actuellement un professeur au MIT.

En résumé, la Faculté des sciences et des sciences de la bioingénierie est:

  • Environ 1200 étudiants en 7 bachelier et 23 master.
  • Plus de 350 candidats au doctorat dans 7 départements.
  • Environ 230 étudiants par an qui obtiennent une maîtrise.

Faculté de pharmacie, ULB

La Faculté de pharmacie de l'Université libre de Bruxelles s'occupe de l'éducation et de la recherche dans les domaines de la biomédecine et des sciences pharmaceutiques.

En résumé, la faculté de pharmacie est :

  • Environ 600 étudiants en 1 Bachelor et 4 Masters.
  • Environ 60 chercheurs.
  • Se concentre fortement sur l'industrie dans le curriculum par des stages professionnels.

L'éducation de nos étudiants


Programmes Master @ ULB

  • Master in Agricultural Bioengineering 
  • Master in Agroecology 
  • Master in Chemistry and Bio-industries 
  • Master in Environmental Bioengineering 
  • Master in Biochemistry and Molecular and Cell Biology 
  • Master in Bio-informatics and Modelling 
  • Master in Biology of Organisms and Ecology 
  • Master in Chemistry 
  • Master in Computer Science 
  • Master in Cybersecurity 
  • Specialized Master in data science, Big data 
  • Master in ecology ( IGEAT) 
  • Master in Geography 
  • Master in Geology 
  • Master in Actuarial Science 
  • Master in Mathematics 
  • Master in Statistics 
  • Master in Biomedical Sciences 
  • Master in Biomedicine 
  • Advanced Master degrees in Clinical Biology, Hospital Pharmacy and Industrial Pharmacy 
  • Master in Pharmacy 
  • Master in Physics 
  • Master in Sciences and Tourism Management 
  • Master of Science and Environmental Management 

Programmes Master @ VUB

  • Master of Science in de Bio-Ingenieurswetenschappen: Cel- en Genbiotechnologie 
  • Master of Science in de Bio-Ingenieurswetenschappen: Chemie en Bioprocestechnologie 
  • Master of Science in Biology: Ecology and Biodiversity 
  • Master of Science in Biology: EMMC Tropical Biodiversity and Ecosystems 
  • Master of Science in Biology: Herpetology 
  • Master of Science in Biology: Human Ecology 
  • Master of Science in Biology: Molecular and Cellular Life Sciences 
  • Master of Science in Marine and Lacustrine Science and Management 
  • Master of Science in Molecular Biology 
  • Master of Science in Chemistry 
  • Master of Science in Applied Sciences and Engineering: Applied Computer Science 
  • Master of Science in Applied Sciences and Engineering: Computer Science 
  • Master of Science in Geography 
  • Master of Science in Stedenbouw en Ruimtelijke Planning 
  • Master of Science in Urban Studies 
  • Master of Science in Urban Studies: EMMC 4CITIES 
  • Master of Science in Mathematics 
  • Master of Science in Physics and Astronomy 

Nous connaître


Cercle des Sciences ASBL, ULB

Le Cercle des Sciences ASBL (CdS) est l'une des plus anciennes organisations d'étudiants de l'ULB. Il fonctionne en tant qu'organisme à but non lucratif depuis 1890. Ses objectifs sont de réunir les étudiants par différents types d'activités scientifiques, culturelles et sociales, et deuxièmement de soutenir et d'aider les étudiants tout au long de leur séjour à l'université.

Les principales activités du Cercle des Sciences comprennent :

  • "Les 10 km de l'ULB" : une course philanthropique dont tous les profits sont entièrement donnés à la recherche scientifique à la Faculté des Sciences de l'ULB. Le produit est d'environ €15000 par an.
  • "Le Festival du film scientifique de Bruxelles" : un vrai Festival du film sous la devise "La Science pour tous" pour promouvoir la science et la rendre accessible à tous. Ce festival du film attire un public de scientifiques établis et de simples curieux.

Wetenschappelijke Kring, VUB

La Wetenschappelijke Kring (WK) est une organisation d'étudiants, pour étudiants, associée à la Faculté des Sciences et des Sciences de la bioingénierie de la Vrije Universiteit van Brussel. Depuis 1949, ils combleront le fossé entre les étudiants, leur université et leurs futurs employeurs. Le Wetenschappelijke Kring représente tous les étudiants dans les domaines de la bio-ingénierie, la biologie, la chimie, la physique, la géographie, l'Informatique, et les mathématiques.

Les principales activités du Wetenschappelijke Kring comprennent :

  • "Nacht van de Wetenschappen": un bal (comme dans "Gala") soutenu par la Faculté des Sciences pour les étudiants et les membres du personnel.
  • "Duvel TD: pendant de nombreuses années, le "Duvel TD" a été l'un des événements nocturnes les plus importants et les plus souhaitables sur le campus de la VUB, qui attire plus de 1500 étudiants.
  • "Barbecue WK" : la fin de l'année académique est célébrée par un gigantesque barbecue qui attire de nombreux étudiants de la Faculté des Sciences, des membres du personnel et des anciens de la Faculté des Sciences. Grâce à une relation étroite avec la Faculté des Sciences et des Sciences de la bio-ingénierie, le "WK barbecue" a été utilisé comme une rencontre officiel (ou "send off") pour les étudiants nouvellement diplômés.